11 people killed in a road accident in Udhampur


Eleven persons died and 20 seriously injured in a tragic bus accident occurred at Keya on Ramnagar-Basantgarh road till the last reports are received.

The ill fated 41 seater bus bearing registration number JK14C-7786 rolled down into a 400 feet gorge at 1020 hrs.

The District administration, immediately after hearing about the unfortunate incident, swung into action and launched rescue and relief operation. Seven critically injured persons were airlifted from Ramnagar to Jammu for treatment at GMC besides eight ambulances and an equal number of rescue vans were pressed into action.

DC Udhampur provided an immediate relief of Rs 1 lakh each to next kin of deceased, Rs 25000 to critically injured and Rs 10,000 each to other injured.

Meanwhile, a magisterial enquiry has been ordered into the incident to ascertain the cause of accident since the 2013-make bus was in roadworthy condition and the site was reportedly not accident prone.

Addl DC Angrez Singh Rana has been deputed as Magistrate for enquiry.

Meanwhile, the District Police with help of locals retrieved the dead bodies and rescued around 30 persons out of which 20 were seriously injured and 7 critically injured.

DIG Udhampur-Reasi, Surinder Gupta SSP Suleiman Choudhary, ADC Angrez Singh Rana, CMO, SDM, SDPO and other officers coordinated the rescue and relief arrangements at spot of accident and arranged shifting of injured to sub district hospital Ramnagar.

The list of dead persons included Sunita Kumari (40 yrs) w/o Daleep Singh r/o Blota- chigla, Sadhu Ram (70 yrs) S/o Sunder R/O Keya, Om Parkash (25 yrs) S/O Jagdish Chand R/O Rasli-Gader, Ashok Kumar(45 yrs) S/o Govind Ram R/o Udhampur, Des raj(48 yrs) S/O Munshi Ram r/o Keya, Hukum Chand(35 yrs) s/o Jodh mal r/o Basantgarh, Neelam Kumari(22 yrs) w/o Amit Gupta r/o Basantgarh,   Sudesh Kumar (38 years) S/o Kundi Ram, R/O Dehari, Radhu Devi (3 yrs) D/O Gandhi r/o Udhampur and  Mohinder Kumar(30 yrs) driver s/o Rattan Lal r/o Kirmu.

The list of seriously injured include Sham Parsad (26 yrs) s/o Om dutt R/O chatrari,Arshad Hussain(26) s/o Rukam din r/o B’garh, Duni Chand(71) s/o Punnu r/o Chatrari,Narinder Singh(12) s/o Swarn Singh r/o Panara ,Mohan Lal (27) s/o Suraj Parkash r/o Prey, Yashpaul(18) s/o Hem Raj r/o Rasli Gaderan, Balbir Singh(14) s/o Tara Chand r/o Balota, Jaitun Begum(27) w/o Abdul Rashid r/o Lodra, Rakesh Singh(24) s/o Hukum Singh r/o Kogarmarh, Bimla devi (30)w/o Bittu Ram r/o Latti Dhuna, Khem Raj(12) s/o Duni Chand r/o Chatrari, Chhatto(67) s/o Mania r/o Laddana, Gul Mohammad (45) s/o Akbar r/o Sang, Sunita Kumari(35) w/o Kewal r/o Kadwa, Seema w/o Gandhi r/o Udhampur,Ashok Kumar(27) s/o Khinu Ram r/o Laddana, Artish Kumar(32) s/o Dhani Ram r/o Joffer,Rekha devi (34) w/o Kirpal r/o Joffer,Hans raj(35) s/o Chandu r/o Incha, Reva(30) w/o Artish Kumar r/o Joffer.

And Other passengers included Mohd Rafiq(26) w/o Saraj Din r/o Joffer, Rangesh Singh(21) s/o Kirpal Singh r/o Joffer, Subhash Chander(22) s/o Prem Singh r/o Joffer, Jeevan Kumar(22) s/o Suram Chand r/o Laddana, Sudesh Singh(46) s/o Anant Ram r/o Balota, Sunita devi(40) w/o Yog Raj r/o Chatrari, Guddi Devi (27) w/o Kuldeep Kumar R/O Lehar, Meenakshi (20)w/o Sushil Kumar r/o Ramnagar, Amit Kumar(32) s/o Madan Lal R/O B’garh and Balban Singh(19) s/o Suram chand r/o B’garh.