BJP sweeps Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council elections

BJP today swept the elections for the 26-member Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council (LAHDC) Leh, bagging 17 of the 24 seats for which results have been declared so far.

Congress, which had a strong presence in the last Council, managed only four seats this time while National Conference got one. One seat was won by an Independent.

The poll victory was hailed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi who expressed his gratitude to the people of the region for reposing their faith in BJP.

“Delighted at the results of Ladakh Hill Council Polls. My gratitude to people for placing their faith in BJP. Congrats to BJP Karyakartas,” he tweeted.

The party had won the Lok Sabha polls last year from Ladakh Constituency, the lone seat in the region, by dislodging Congress.

BJP candidates won from Tegar, Panamik, Tangtse, Chushul, Kungyam, Sakti, Igoo, Martselang, Thiksay, Chuchot, Upper Leh, Phyang, Sku-Markha, Saspol, Temisgam, Khaltse and Skurbuchan council seats in the elections held on October 19.

Congress has so far managed only four seats winning Lamayouru, Basgo, Lingshet and Korzok seats.

National Conference has won only the Lower Leh seat, while Diskit seat went to an Independent.

The results for two council seats -Hunder and Nyoma – are awaited.

90 candidates were in the fray for the elections and over 65 per cent electorate had exercised their franchise.