Cultural academy hosted an interactive session with Farooq Nazki

Jammu & Kashmir Academy of Art, Culture & Languages today hosted an interactive session with prominent poet, author and broadcaster Farooq Nazki under the scheme ‘meet the eminent contemporary’. The function was held in the Seminar Hall of the Academy in Srinagar and was attended by a large number of writers, poets, artistes and lovers of Urdu and Kashmiri languages which the 75 year old writer-broadcaster has been nurturing for the last several decades. The function was presided over by Jnanpith awardee Kashmiri poet, Prof. Rehman Rahi. Secretary Academy Dr. Aziz Hajini was also in the presidium. The celebrated writer-broadcaster has the distinction of tirelessly working for Urdu and Kashmiri languages that brought him in close association with several luminaires of these languages. During the interaction, Nazki gave eye witness accounts of his
struggle for the promotion and development of Urdu and Kashmiri languages and also shared his experience in the field of mass media. He also recounted his association with local TV and Cultural Academy. During the two hour long interaction, Nazki spoke in detail about Urdu language and the need to popularize it. Known as the staunch advocate of Urdu language, he said Urdu is the best symbol of national integration and communal harmony. Secretary Academy, Dr. Aziz Hajini presented a Kashmiri shawl to the eminent writer-broadcaster as a token of love and respect from the institution. Speaking on the occasion Hajini said that ‘meet the eminent contemporary’ scheme got a revival after nearly nine years with this interaction and such events would continue to be held. “Apart from this, we are also reviving robe of honour scheme of the Academy,” Hajini said. Earlier a comprehensive paper on the life and works of Nazki was also read by Rafiq Raaz. Among others, porominent social and literary figures including Ghulam Nabi Khayal, Qazi Mohammed Amin, Ayaz Rasool Nazki, Ayash Arif, Humayun Qaiser, Aijaz Ahmad Kakroo, Ruksana Jabeen, Nusrat Andrabi, Shabir Mujahid, Zamir Aishai, Zahir Manzoor, Nazir Josh, Mushtaaque Ali Ahmad, Mushtaq Ahmad Mushtaq, DK Kanwal, Zeeshan Fazil and Shafaq Sopori participated in the programme.