Discipline is bedrock of a stable society: Governor

Governor N.N. Vohra attended a function here today which was organized by the Dogra Brahman Pratinidhi Sabha to honour 133 meritorious students of 10th and 12th classes.

          Complimenting the meritorious students and their parents for their academic achievements the Governor observed that the Sabha should devise a scheme for meritorious students of 9th class being identified and provided support till 12th class, subject to sustained very good performance. Observing that there was need for institutionalizing scholarships for brilliant students at various levels the Governor said that he shall request Prof. R.D Sharma, Vice Chancellor of Jammu and a few other educationists to help in finalizing a meaningful scholarships scheme for supporting and encouraging bright students, also keeping in view the economic status of their parents.

          The Governor appreciated the commitment of the Brahmin Sabha for promoting the welfare of the community. He lauded the Sabha’s efforts in expanding its activities over the past years and exhorted its members to ensure that all initiatives were productive and led to the general advancement of the community.

          The Governor stressed that discipline is the bedrock of any stable society and hoped that the students would respect their teachers who would do everything to imbue the upcoming generation with discipline, and moral values. He also suggested institution of various categories of awards for honoring selected teachers also recognizing students who display discipline and upright conduct.

          The Governor announced financial support to the Sabha for promoting the welfare of widows and destitute women.

          Prof. R.D. Sharma, VC Jammu University and Mr. Rajesh Gupta, MLA, Jammu East also spoke on the occasion and congratulated the meritorious students.

          Mr. Ved Prakash Sharma, President, Dogra Brahmin Pratinidhi Sabha; Mr. Chander Mohan Sharma, Advocate presented the Welcome Address and Vote of Thanks, respectively.