Jammu & Kashmir-Ancient History

Jammu city was founded by Raja Jamboolochan in 14th century BC. As per some historians and locals, when Raja Jamboolochan reached the Tawi River during a hunting expedition, he saw a goat and a lion drinking water together at the same place. The king was very much impressed.Later he set up a town after his name, Jamboo which later became Jammu. As far as Kashmir is concerned, as per legend, the sage Kashyapa drained a huge lake called Satisar and the land that came into existence was called Kashmir. Kashmir if literaly translated, means land desiccated from water (Ka-water, Shimira-to desiccate) Geologists also suggest that water of the lake was drained from Baramula.The ancient History of Kashmir is documented in a book “Rajtarangini” written in Sanskrit by a Kashmiri Brahman Kalhana in 12th century CE.This book has been translated into many Indian and foreign languages.

The first known king of Kashmir was Gonanda.The rulers after Gonanda were:

273-232 B.C. Ashoka. Budhism was the main religion during his period.
Around 100 A.D. Kushan dynasty
515-550 A.D. Mihira-Kula, A Hun General.
631 A.D. Karkota Dynasty
724-761 A.D. Lalitaditya
855-883 A.D. Avantivarman
Upto 939 A.D. Uptala dynasty
939-949 A.D. Vyasaskaradeva
949 A.D.  Parva Gupta
950-958 A.D. Ksema Gupta
958-1003 A.D. Didda
1003-1028 A.D. Samgramaraja
1028-1063 A.D. Ananta
1063-1089 A.D. Kalsa
1089-1101 A.D. Harsa
1101-1111 A.D. Uccale
1128-1155 A.D. Jaya Simha
1171-1286 A.D. Bopadeva
1286-1320 A.D. Damra dynasty
1320-1323 A.D. Rinchana (A Buddhist turned Muslim)
1339-1342 A.D. Shah Mir
1354-1373 A.D. Shihab-ud-Din
1373-1389 A.D. Qutub-ud-Din
1389-1413 A.D. Sikander But-Shikan)
1420-1470 A.D. Sultan Zain-ul-Abidin  (Badshah)
1541-1551 A.D. Mirza Haider Dughlat ( A Mughal general)
1561-1586 A.D. Chak dynasty (Yousuf Shah etc.)
1586-1753 A.D. Mughal rule through governors
1753-1819 A.D. Afghan rule through governors
1819-1846 A.D. Sikh rule through governors
1846-1857 A.D. Maharaja Gulab Singh (Dogra rule)
1857-1885 A.D. Maharaja Ranbir Singh
1885-1925 A.D. Maharaja Partap Singh
1925-1947 A.D. Maharaja Hari Singh
1947   A.D. Accession with India