Parwez Dewan and Khurshid Ahmed Ganai appointed advisors to Governor

J&K Governor N N Vohra

Governor N N Vohra today appointed Shri Parvez Dewan and Shri Khurshid Ahmed Ganai as Advisors to the Governor w.e.f. the date they assume the charge.

The Advisors shall exercise the powers of Minister under the Jammu and Kashmir Government Business Rules. In a notification issued today, the Governor has ordered that Shri Parvez Dewan shall be Incharge of the departments of School Education, Higher Education, Technical Education, Youth Services and Sports, Health and Medical Education, Consumer Affairs and Public Distribution, Transport, Public Works (R&B), Information Technology, Floriculture, Garden and Parks, Tourism and Culture. Similarly, Shri Khurshid Ahmed Ganai shall be Incharge of the departments of Agriculture Production, Horticulture, Animal/Sheep Husbandry, Co-operative, Rural Development and Panchayati Raj, Forest, Environment and Ecology, Labour and Employment, PHE, Irrigation and Flood Control, Social Welfare and Tribal Affairs.

The Governor has also directed that the matters relating to the departments of General Administration; Administrative Reforms, Inspections and Training, Stationery and Printing; Elections; Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs; Home; Power Development; Science and Technology; and Industries and Commerce shall be submitted to Shri B.R. Sharma, Chief Secretary. The matters relating to the departments of Planning and Development; Ladakh Affairs; Finance; Housing and Urban Development; Civil Aviation; Estates; Hospitality and Protocol; Information; Revenue; and Relief and Rehabilitation will be submitted to Shri B.B. Vyas, Financial Commissioner. With a view to ensure efficient disposal of various matters, it has been ordered that the Administrative Secretaries shall continue to exercise the powers already delegated to them vide SRO 10 of 14th January, 2016.

The Raj Bhavan Spokesperson recalled that the Governor had held detailed discussions with Shri B.R. Sharma, Chief Secretary, yesterday to discuss restructuring of the present decision making process with a view to ensuring that every important matter receives timely attention. The departments have been organised in four clusters keeping in view the need for synergy and convenient transaction of Government business.

The Governor has also approved the constitution of the State Administrative Council, with the Governor as its Chairman and Advisors to the Governor as Members, to dispose off cases mentioned in the Second Schedule of the J&K Government Business Rules or such other matters as the Governor may direct to be placed before it. The Chief Secretary shall function as the Secretary of the State Administrative Council. The Administrative Secretary of Planning and Development, General Administration, Finance, Law or any other department may be invited as may be required from time to time.