South Kashmir Sports Festival kicks off

DGP K. Rajendra Kumar, inaugurated South Kashmir Sports Festival

The Director General Jammu and Kashmir Police (DGP), K. Rajendra Kumar, today inaugurated South Kashmir Sports Festival 2016 at Government Boys Degree College, Khanabal.

          On the Occasion, DGP took salute at the March Past by the teams of different sports and various cultural items were also presented by the students and artists which were highly applauded by the audience.

Speaking on the occasion, DGP said that the main purpose behind organizing such events was to bridge the gap between police and public. He said that police has already organized many such programmes and continue to strive for the same in future as well.

          “Through these events we get opportunities to watch extraordinary performances of the outstanding sports persons besides encouraging the potential sports persons” DGP said. He declared that the winners of various events would be dually rewarded so that they feel encouraged and strive to compete at national and international level. The DGP also announced a cash reward of Rs 10000 in favour of Yasir Noorani hailing from Pulwama, a differently abled boy, for his heart throbbing singing talent. DGP further informed that fees of talented youth would also be waived off if they choose to study at J&K Police Public School. It is worthwhile to mention that J&K Police runs Police Public Schools at several locations in the state including Srinagar, Jammu, Baramulla, Anantnag, Kargil and so forth.

The Sports festival is being conducted in the disciplines of Tennis Ball Cricket, Volley Ball, Kho Kho, Chess, Carrom and SQAY Martial Art w.e.f. Dec 14 to Dec 25, 2016.The matches will be conducted in two phases.

The teams of each district will compete among themselves at respective District Hqrs of Anantnag, Kulgam, Pulwama, Shopian and PD Awantipora, from Dec 15 to Dec 17, 2016 in 1st phase. The 2nd phase of the festival will be conducted at Degree College Anantnag ground where the winners of 1st Phase will compete among themselves (inter-district).The closing ceremony is scheduled to be held December 25, in which all the winner and runner up teams would be awarded in a spectacular ceremony.