Anantnag by-polls arrangements reviewed

Chief Electoral Officer, Mr Shantmanu in a meeting in Anantnag

A meeting to review the arrangements of by-poll to Anantnag assembly segment was held under the chairmanship of Chief Electoral Officer, Mr Shantmanu at Dak Bungalow Anantnag.

            General Observers appointed by the Election Commission of India (ECI), Mr G L Mena, Mr Nitya Sunder Trivedi, Police Observer, Mr Jai Narayan Singh, Expenditure Observer, Kumar Pranav, DIG South Kashmir, Mr Nitish Kumar, District Election Officer, Dr Syed Abid Rasheed Shah, SSP Anantnag, Mr Abdul Jabbar, besides  Returning Officer attended the meeting.

            Threadbare discussion was held on various issues which include arrangements regarding EVMs, training and deployment of polling and counting staff, provision of facilities to be made on polling stations especially at Model polling stations, distribution of Elector’s Photo identity Cards (EPIC), deployment of micro observers and sectoral magistrates, installation of webcams at 20 polling stations for webcasting and videography of 10 polling stations.

            The CEO directed that the poll parties with election related material shall be dispatched well in time. He also directed for maintaining roaster to ensure round-the-clock presence of employees in the Control Room to make it functional 24X7.

            It was decided that the webcams shall be installed at the polling stations on June 21 and the test for dry-run shall also be conducted on the same day. The Sectoral Magistrates shall collect the used DVD and submit the same to the concerned, the meeting decided.  It was also decided that the spare EVMs shall be available with the Sectoral Magistrates and Observers to replace any EVM that develops a snag or malfunctions.

             The meeting was informed that adequate number of vehicles have been arranged to ferry the poll parties and election related material.