CS honours 28 meritorious girls on National Girl child Day

Chief Secretary, B R Shamra, on Sunday honoured twenty eight meritorious and courageous girls for their exemplary performances in the field of academics, sports, arts and culture.

 These young achievers were honoured in a function organized by District Task Force, Beti Bachao Beti Padhao, Jammu in collaboration with Indian Red Cross Society, to mark the celebration of National Girl Child Day at General Zorawar Singh Auditorium, Jammu University.

Secretary, Social Welfare Department, Sanjeev Verma, Deputy Commissioner, Jammu Simrandeep Singh, Honorary General Secretary of Indian Red Cross society, J&K Branch, Roma Wani besides officers of district administration, District Task Force, BBBP and Indian Red Cross Society were present on the occasion.

While addressing the gathering, the Chief Secretary emphasized the need of creating an encouraging and opportunity filled environment for the girl child who forms an integral part of our society. “Girls are shining in every field and it is our responsibility to encourage them so that they can make the country proud at the highest level”, he added.

Chief Secretary asked the Deputy Commissioner, Jammu for preparing a tracking system to keep a record and monitoring of skills, strengths and achievements of such girls so that these could further be enhanced by ensuring them all required support. Their achievements must be glorified and publicized in the best possible way for encouraging other girls to come forward and realize their dreams, he added.

The girls who were honoured for performing exceptionally well in their studies included Sipaj Jain and Garima Jasrotia of Government College for Women, Gandhi Nagar, Sonali Chib of SPM Rajput College of Commerce, Taranjeet Kour of GGM Science College, Vidushi Gupta of DBN Hr. Sec. School, Mubarak Mandi, Meenakshi Dubey of Govt Girls Hr. Sec. School, Mubarak Mandi, Mimansa Bhardwaj of Govt Girls Hr. Sec. School, Canal Road, Manpreet Kour of Shiksha Niketan Hr. Sec. School, Jevan Nagar, Muskaan Rajwal of S P Hr. Sec. School, Exchange Road, Annie Vaid of Govt Girls Hr. Sec. School, Mubarak Mandi, Kiranpreet Kour and Sarleen Kour of Carmel Convent High School, Kunjwani, Sanya Gupta of St. Peters Hr. Sec. School, Kunjwani, Pratima Gupta of JK Public School, Panjtirthi, Harpreet Kour of Govt Girls High School, Simbal Camp, Isha Kumari of Govt Girls Hr. Sec. School, Kandoli Nagrota, Kajal Verma of Govt Girls Hr. Sec. School, Rehari, Saakshi Sharma of Govt Girls Hr. Sec. School, Pallanwala, Sharmila Choudhary of Govt Girls Hr. Sec. School, Jourian and Muskan Sawhney of Govt Girls Hr. Sec. School, Mubarak Mandi, Jammu.

The girls who were awarded for representing the state at national and international level sports events included Heena Bali of Govt Girls Hr. Sec. School, Rehari, Saakshi and Dehar Mir of Model Academy School, BC Road, Jammu, Rifat Choudhary and Nadia Choudhary of Govt Girls Hr. Sec. School, Shastri Nagar, Manu Devi of Govt Girls Hr. Sec. School, Akhnoor and Simran Sharma of Vishwa Bharti School, Akalpur.

Meanwhile, Vidhi Jaswal of Model Academy School was honoured for her hardwork and efforts in reaching ‘Indian Idol’ and becoming finalist in singing show ‘Voice of Punjab’. The young achievers were given a momento, citation and a cheque of Rs. 5,000 for their excellent performances in their respective fields.