CM and Governor congratulates Sahitya Akademi award winners

Governor N.N. Vohra has congratulated Mr. Dhian Singh and Mr. Bashir Bhaderwahi on their being conferred with the prestigious Sahitya Akademi Annual Awards for 2015. Mr. Dhian Singh has been honoured for his contribution to Dogri literature and Mr. Bhaderwahi in recognition of his work in Kashmiri.

Mr. Singh has been awarded for “Parchhamen Di Lo” his book of poems in Dogri and Mr. Bhaderwahi has been chosen for the coveted award for “Jamis Ta Kasheeri Manz Kashir Natia Adabuk Tawareekh” a volume on literary criticism.

In separate letters to both the authors the Governor has wished them continuing successes in all their future literary endeavours.

Chief Minister, Mufti Mohammad Sayeed,Friday congratulated Dhian Singh and Bashir Bhaderwahi on being conferred with the prestigious Sahitya Akademi Annual Awards for the year 2015.

In his message of felicitations, Mufti Sayeed, who is also the President of the J&K Academy of Art, Culture & Languages (JKAACL), said the conferring of awards was recognition of the literary contribution made by the two eminent writers from the state. “Literature has great power to unify people across regions, religions and cultures,” he added.

While Dhian Singh has been honoured for ‘Parchhamen Di Lo’, his book of poems in Dogri, Bashir Bhaderwahi was given the award for his work – Jamis Ta Kasheeri Manz Kashir Natia Adabuk Tawareekh’, a volume on literary criticism.