Jammu Kashmir Cultural Confederation (JKCC) takes shape

Sr Journalist Shujaat Bukhari
After marathon deliberations, representatives of over 50 organisations working for the promotion of Kashmiri language and other areas of culture across Jammu and Kashmir state, Saturday launched the Jammu Kashmir Cultural Confederation after adopting its constitution.
At an extraordinary meeting presided over by veteran poet and Gyanpeeth awardee Prof Rehman Rahi, the draft constitution formulated by a committee was discussed and adopted after which an ad-hoc Executive Committee was set up. The meeting attended by representatives of over 50 organisations working in Srinagar, South and North Kashmir, Chenab Valley, Pir Panchal and Jammu discussed in detail the need for putting all heads together to further the cause of the language. The constitution drafted by a committee was also discussed and adopted with consensus.
Prof Rahi was elected as Chief Patron and noted writer Ghulam Nabi Khayal as Patron of the Confederation. Prominent writer and journalist Dr Shujaat Bukhari was nominated as the Chairman of JKCC with the mandate to nominate the ad-hoc body till the formal elections are held. “It is a huge responsibility but I will try my best to come up to the expectations of the members who reposed faith in me” Dr Bukhari said after being elected as the Chairman. “It is a historic day for Kashmir language and culture and I hope this move yields the desired result” he added.
Later on the executive committee and an advisory council was nominated with six vice presidents, general secretary, five secretaries, a treasurer and a spokesman. Accordingly Ali Shaida, G R Hasarat Gadda, Manshoor Banihali, Shehbaz Rajourvi and Nasim Shifai were nominated as vice chairpersons while the historian and writer Prof Farooq Fayaz will be the general secretary. Waheed Jeelani was nominated as treasurer and Mohammad Amin Bhat as spokesman. Ashraf Raavi, Ayash Arif,  Bhawani Bashir Yasir, Suhail Siddiqui and Abdul Ahad Hajini will be the Secretaries of JKCC with different responsibilities. The post of vice chairperson for Jammu will be filled later.
The executive committee will have Sheikh Mohammad Yaqoob, Nasim ul Haque, Ghulam Ahmad Sofi, Izhar Mubashir, Riyaz Khaki, Gulab Saifi, Ateeqa Bano, Hameedah Shah, Ehtisham Butt, Dr Rafeeq Masoodi , Mushtaq Ahmad Mushtaq, G N Shahid and Shabir Hussain Shabir as members.
The Advisory Council headed by chief patron Prof Rehman Rahi will have patron G N Khayal,  Prof Zaman Azurdah, A K Rehbar, Rafiq Raaz, B N Betab, Iftikhar Bazmi, Shameem Dev Azad, Mohammad Sayeed Malik, Iftikhar Gilani, Makhan Lal Kanwal, Prem Nath Shad, Fayaz Dilbar, Rukhsana Jabeen, Prof Nusrat Andrabi, Kailash Mehra, Zamir Ashai, Santosh Naadan, Prof Iqbal Nazki, Rajesh Raina, Aseer Kishtwari and Bashir Bhaderwahi as members.