Bye-election schedule for Srinagar, Anantnag Parliamentary Constituencies

Electronic Voting Machine

Election Commission of India (ECI) today announced schedule for Bye-Elections to Srinagar and Anantnag Parliamentary Constituencies according to which elections on these seats would be held on April 9 and April 12, 2017 respectively.

With the announcement of the election schedule, Model Code of conduct comes into force with immediate effect in the districts in which the whole or any part of the Parliamentary Constituencies going for bye-elections is included.

Meanwhile, Chief Electoral Officer Shantmanu today took a review meeting with concerned District Election Officers (Deputy Commissioners) and Deputy District Election Officers to ensure free, fair, transparent and peaceful bye-elections of these Parliamentary Constituencies.