SPAC recommends review of JK Press Accreditation Policy

SPAC meeting under the chairmanship of Director General Information, Mr Zaffar Ahmad Bhat

The State Press Accreditation Committee (SPAC) has recommended review of the existing Accreditation Rules promulgated by J&K Government in 1998 to attune the same with the existing media scenario in the State.

This was decided at the SPAC meeting convened here today under the chairmanship of Director General Information, Mr Zaffar Ahmad Bhat.

Mr Arun Joshi, Resident Editor, The Tribune, Mr Neeraj Rohmetra, Executive Editor, Daily Excelsior, Mr Ashwani Kumar, President Press Club Jammu, Mr Bashir Ahmad Bashir, Editor, Srinagar Times, Mr Muddasir Ali, Senior Correspondent, Greater Kashmir, Mr Nasir Ganai, Senior Correspondent, Mail Today, Mr Sheikh Tariq, Video-journalist, NDTV, Mr Tauseef Mustafa, Photojournalist, AFP, Mr Pawan Choudhary, ABP News and Mr Nitin Kanotra, The Hindustan Times were present at the meeting.

It was decided in the meeting that in view of the massive expansion and fast-changing media scenario in the State, the existing Press Accreditation Rules notified in 1998 have become redundant and need to be reviewed and attuned to the present scenario. It was accordingly decided that the members of the SPAC would suggest appropriate changes in the existing Accreditation Policy so that the same is placed before the Government for consideration.

The meeting also considered existing and new cases of media-persons for Accreditation and made its recommendations on the merits of each case.

The meeting also discussed various issues pertaining to better coordination between various Government agencies and the media to ensure effective dissemination of information and media coverage.

Pertinently, the SPAC meeting was convened after a gap of two years as the last meeting of the Committee was convened in 2013.